April’s Chicken Salad

I don’t usually like chicken salad. I don’t like onions, and generally, I don’t like mayonnaise. Something about my friend April’s chicken salad made me change my mind though… It could be the cucumber…lack of onion… or the apples…

This chicken salad can be made in roughly 15 minutes (plus time to chill). Its a simple and quick spring time lunch. And since its April now, and I got the recipe from my friend April, it seems like a fitting way to start off the month. I’m pretty sure April didn’t write the recipe, but I don’t know where she got it, so for now, April can claim the chicken salad.

What makes this chicken salad truly wonderful: cashews, apple, and cucumber.

Ta-da! And because I wasn’t patient enough by the time supper rolled around to fish out my camera before I rapidly  shoveled it into my mouth… I have no picture of it on a pretty kaiser roll. So sorry.

April’s Chicken Salad
2 cups diced chicken, cooked
1/2 cup chopped cashews
1/2 cup chopped red apple
1/2 cup chopped cucumber, peeled
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
dash of pepper

Mix mayonnaise, sugar, salt, and pepper. add chicken, mix. Then add remaining ingredients and mix some more.  Chill in the refrigerator for a little bit if you want.

Serve on kaiser rolls, croissants, sandwich buns… or whatever bread makes your heart happy.

Enjoy!

 

3 Comments on “April’s Chicken Salad”

  1. Love that this has cashews and apples!

  2. Aunt Vicki says:

    this sounds yummy always have leftover chicken in the house i’ll have to ty it for lunch for work thanks holly.

  3. […] April”s Chicken Salad Sandwiches on Croissants […]


Leave a Reply

