Secrets Don’t Make Friends…Sometimes.

My cousin Erica is my best friend and has been for many, many years. This year we have been working on a few art projects together, sending lengthy love letters to each other, and occasionally sharing recipes. A few weeks ago she handed over her “Secret Banana Bar” recipe. Now, I can’t tell you the recipe, but I can tell you it was spectacular and so wonderfully moist. And I can also tell you, its ok to play with  your food. It took me 20 years of being her friend to get the recipe, there is no way she is revealing it to the world. If you really, really want a hunk of these bars, I suppose I could make you some, but you would have to share with me.

My bars kind of ended up as bread because I didn’t have the right sized pan, or cream cheese frosting, but I still had fun. And the fun is what I can tell you about. You see, her recipe is banana-y and moist, everything banana bars should be. But I like a little spice to my treats, a little surprise. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, almond extract, and chopped almonds to my bars. The combination turned out quite lovely.

I encourage you to give it a shot. Play with your food. Add something you wouldn’t normally add. If you’re too scared to try it on a new recipe, play with one you know well. I find it easiest to play around when I’m making cupcakes or chicken. If it fails, its alright. You’re not alone. I fail sometimes too.

One Comment on “Secrets Don’t Make Friends…Sometimes.”

  1. Missy says:

    What a great idea! Thanks for the inspiration!


Leave a Reply

