Round Two. Success!

I don’t like losing. I’m not sure that anyone does, but I really don’t like losing to a recipe.

This evening I have a little extra time on my hands, a pleasant little gap between class and evening plans. Since we are in such desperate need of groceries, my menu is outdated, and I just don’t feel like grocery shopping, I decided I am going to attempt to conquer those pesty little Sweet Potato Curry Fries again. Fries are always a healthy super. A nice balance of vegetable, starch, and sodium. Who could pass that up?

Since before they ended up plastered to the sheet of wax paper, I made sure to babysit those little sticks the entire time they baked. Every ten minutes I whipped them out of the oven, pried them off the sheet to make sure they didn’t win. After the first round of prying they did pretty good. I think I ripped most of the stubbornness out of them.

(Now, I know they look burnt, but its all in the name of crispiness.)

In Joy the Baker’s original recipe of these she paired them with a yogurt dipping sauce to cool them down a little. Well, since I need groceries so desperately, I didn’t have those ingredients on hand. So I concocted my own dipping sauce. Ha. 1 point recipes. 1 point Holly.

So here are the recipes for both:
Sweet Potato Curry Fries
From Joy the Baker

1 plump sweet potato/yam/orange-fleshed potato, peeled
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large egg white
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste

Yogurt Sauce:
1/3 cup Greet yogurt
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon olive oil
salt to taste

1. Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 400 degrees F.

2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

3. Peel sweet potato and slice off the top  and bottom points of the potato.  With potato positioned north to south, use a large knife to slice potato into 1/3-inch potato planks.  Stack planks in two piles, and slice, north to south, into 1/3-inch sticks.  Fries!

4. Place potato sticks onto prepared baking sheet and toss with olive oil.  Set aside.

5. In a medium bowl, whisk egg white until foamy and frothy.  Add curry powder, cumin, turmeric, and crushed red pepper flakes and whisk to incorporate.  Pour the egg white mixture over the potato sticks and gentle toss to coat the potatoes.

6. Place in the oven and bake to desired doneness and crispiness, my fries took about 40 minutes.  While the fries bake, stir together yogurt, cumin, olive oil and salt.  Place in a small serving dish.

Holly’s Dipping Sauce:
2  1/2Tbsp mayonnaise
4 Tbsp ranch dressing
2 slices of cucumber, diced finely
several dashes of cumin
several dashes of salt

1. mix and chill until ready to serve.

And because today was not quite lovely enough, (65 degrees in Minnesota!) I received a delightful package in the mail from my mom. Mom’s just rock. Inside this little package was:
“The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society” by Beth Pattillo
“Cupcakes” from Better Homes and Gardens
“Uppercase: A magazine for the Creative & Curious”
“Martha Stewart Living”
“Playing with Books” by Jason Thompson
2 boxes of Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies
All Purpose Seasoning
&
The Cutest, Most Wonderful Apron Ever!

 

(I just couldn’t take it off to take a better picture of it!)

And to bring this absolutely wonderful day to a close, my husband and I will be going swing dancing with some friends tonight.

3 Comments on “Round Two. Success!”

  1. vickie renken says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the package! The book was one I just finished, I loved it. Probably the fastest I’ve ever read a book, hopefully you enjoy it too. Can you believe I had those girl scout cookies that long and didn’t eat them! I hope you and your hubby have a great time swing dancing! Isn’t spring awesome!

  2. Missy says:

    Ya for mommy!!! So proud of you for conquering those pesky fries!

  3. Erika says:

    What a wonderful post! Yea to conquering the fries (they look delicious!) and YEA for packages from home! Everything in it sounded perfectly delightful – and the apron is adorable!!! What a great mommy you have :-)

    Have a great weekend, Holly – keep cooking! You’re teaching us old married ladies some new tricks!


Leave a Reply

