I Rock at Cupcakes

Yesterday afternoon I became a bit restless and wanted to play in the kitchen. Cupcakes have become a default, and that is just fine by me.

I usually try to be creative and add some fun little twist to make the cupcakes even more spectacular, but yesterday I just had no inspiration. As a result I made Almond Vanilla Cupcakes with an Incredibly Wonderful Light, Fluffy Almond Vanilla Frosting. Since I wasn’t doing much flavor-wise, I decided to add just a tiny bit of food coloring to my frosting. As a result, I had a very soft, delicate green. It suits the cupcake.

Almond Vanilla Cupcake
*makes 12 cupcakes

1/2 cup butter, room temp.
1 egg, room temp.
2 egg yolks, room temp.
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup milk

1. oven to 350. line your muffin pan. stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.
2. cream butter and sugar together for at least 1 minute. add eggs, mix in. scrape sides of bowl in between additions. add vanilla, almond, and nutmeg. alternate between adding flour mixture and milk. mix until well combined.
3. spoon batter into muffin liners. make cups 3/4 full.
4. bake 20-22 minutes. let cool 5 minutes in pan. let cool completely before frosting.


For the frosting I used a recipe I found over at Tasty Kitchen. It truly is incredible. I know it sounds a little odd, but it is so fluffy, airy, and just plain delightful. Its consistency is comparable to whip cream, and the flavor is just a tiny bit sweeter. The only thing I did to that recipe was add 1/4 tsp almond extract and a couple dashes of food coloring.


This is how your mixture of flour and milk should look when you finish.

After you make your frosting, enjoy and lick the bowl. Just lick it. There will be plenty of frosting left. We may have enjoyed some frosting out of the piping bag…

One Comment on “I Rock at Cupcakes”

  1. Aunt Vicki says:

    ive been hunting for a easy cupcake frosting recipe for the cupcake bakesale we are having at work this sounds awesome. thanks


Leave a Reply

