Friday Night Tummy Growls

First things first. I eat waaaay too much. As I am beginning this post I am stuffing my face with a “Purple” Velvet Cupcake (I’ll get there in a moment) and day dreaming about what concoction I will mix up for supper!

I have a few different recipes to share today.
1. Easy Homemade  Mac & Cheese
2. Chicken Pot Pie Empanadas
3. “Purple” Velvet Cupcakes

 The Mac & Cheese was completely spontaneous, so the recipe will be very very loose. Lo siento.

Easy Homemade Mac & Cheese
2 cups pasta
2″ thick chunk of Velveeta Cheese, chopped
1 handful of shredded Cheddar Cheese
1/2 cup milk

– cook the pasta
– in a skillet add the cheeses and milk on medium heat until melted, reduce to simmer (as the cheese sits it does develop a slight thick layer on top, just stir it again, and it will go away.)
– stir in pasta until well-coated
– eat immediately. the whole thing. by yourself.

Chicken Pot Pie Empanadas
I changed the recipe a little from the original.

1 Tbsp butter
1 Tbsp flour
1 cup chicken broth
1 10 oz. package of frozen peas, beans, carrots veggie mix
2 lb. chicken breast, cooked with a little basil, chopped into bite-size pieces
salt & pepper
2 refrigerated  9-in. pie crusts

– preheat oven to 400 degrees
– melt butter in sauce pan on medium heat, stir in flour, stirring constantly for 1 min.
– slowly stir in broth. cook until thickened (about 3 min.)
– add veggies, salt, and pepper. cook a few minutes. remove from heat. stir in chicken
– unroll pie crusts, cut in half. pile some of the mix  onto one half of each half, fold over, seal with a little water on edges, cut 3 slits on the top of each empanda.
– bake 18-20 minutes until golden brown.

 Enjoy! They were so tasty and simple!

“Purple” Velvet Cupcakes

Alright, funny story here. So my friend, Steph, wanted to make some cupcakes for her mom for Mother’s Day. She wanted to make Red Velvet. No big deal. I loved Pioneer Woman’s Red Velvet Sheet Cake I made at Easter so we used the same recipe. Steph wanted to know if there was anything she could bring, I told her she could bring some (2 oz.) red food coloring. Well, my dear friend did not bring 2 oz. of red food coloring. She got pink, and it was .3 oz. of pink food coloring! So i contributed my tiny .3 oz. bottle of red food coloring, and then we added .3 oz. of blue food coloring as well. Yes, I can count, this is still less than 1 oz. of food coloring. But. You know what, we had fun and enjoyed a good laugh about making “purple” red velvet cupcakes.

In the end, they tasted great! They look fabulous- just not red!

Do you have any funny similar kitchen mishaps? Please share. I always enjoy a good laugh. Happy Friday! Its the weekend! You made it.

3 Comments on “Friday Night Tummy Growls”

  1. vickie renken says:

    how did this post get its name? I would very much like to eat everything on this post!

  2. I love the PURPLE
    it’s perfect for Mother’s Day!
    please stop by and say hi.
    xoxo
    bB

    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  3. myblogject says:

    What wonderful recipes.
    Great post!


Leave a Reply

