Bright Changes

I am alive and well. I promise. We moved this past weekend along with making another trip back to South Dakota to do some work for my parents. So, needless to say, we are tired and over worked.  Now, however, we are for the most part settled into our lovely new home. We still have boxes scattered in every single nook and cranny throughout the place- but- I have a lovely kitchen and a “studio”. As soon as we get things a bit more organized around here I’ll show off some pictures.

Until then, I have a little project to share with you. I wanted to make something to make our door look more welcoming and home-like. I decided to make a simple, cheerful, wreath.

Supplies:
– 1 yard of fabric
– Styrofoam wreath
– fabric glue, or hot glue gun
– small pieces of felt (or other sturdy backing for fabric flowers)

step 1: cut about a yard of fabric into 1” strips. the fabric is completely up to you.

step 2: glue the end of your first strip of fabric to the wreath, then wrap the fabric around and around, pulling it tight. at the end of the strip of fabric put another dab of glue to hold it in place. on top of where you ended apply another dab of glue and repeat the process of gluing and wrapping until the wreath is completely covered.

step 3: after i finished with the peach fabric, I used some canvas fabric and some brown yarn, wrapping around on only part of the wreath to add some variety in the same manor as the other fabric.

step 4: to finish it off I made four fabric flowers out of my scraps to adorn the wreath.

Boom. Wreath. The project probably took 1 1/2 hours to complete. The majority of the time was probably spent cutting the fabric, trying to keep my strips straight. In the end, I loved how my wreath turned out and I can’t wait to hang it on our new front door.

I will try to get some pictures of our new place up this week!

 

3 Comments on “Bright Changes”

  1. kylie says:

    i love your little wreath…so cute=D im leaving you a comment…because if i had a blog i would want you to leave a comment. buuut i am not leaving this so that when i have a blog you feel like you need to comment…yup. =D

  2. Erika says:

    Congrats, Saxes! A new place is always exciting… finding just “the” spot for everything :-) Your wreath looks adorable, crafty momma… can’t wait to see your pics! Happy settling!

  3. vickie renken says:

    very cute wreath kitty! I’m trying to be patient waiting to see pictures of your new digs! I’m sure you two will make it very cozy.


Leave a Reply

