Silhouette Creation

I have been on a major craft kick lately. Before the move I felt like I shouldn’t drag all my stuff out and make a mess so I just compiled a giant desire to create, as well as a giant to-make list.  High on that to-make list was silhouette portraits of me & my hubby. I had it all planned out in my mind, everyone gave me a funny look when I explained, and in the end, I got exactly what I wanted- Modge Podged Paper adorned with sleek silhouettes.

Supplies:
– 2 16″x20″ canvas boards (I bought a pack of 3 for $9.99 at Hobby Lobby)
-about 8 sheets of your choice of  scrap booking paper- more or less varying on size you choose
-modge podge, matte finish
-paint brush
-black acrylic paint
-silhouette of yourself & spouse (or whoever…just don’t get creepy)

 

Step 1: rip and crumble paper as you wish, then brush modge podge on your canvas, lay down the paper, then brush more over it holding it into place. repeat until entire canvas is covered. let dry.

Step 2: take a photo and turn it into a silhouette. Here is steps on how to turn your photo into a silhouette on photoshop if you need help.

Step 3: trace your silhouette on top of the modge podged surface. then paint it in with acrylic paint.

 

Step 4: hang it up and admire your classy, homemade work. I have yet to hang mine up… but that is another story.

This project is one that I have probably been the most excited for. I cannot wait to get these hung up on my wall above my couch. Soon, very, very soon, we will get our walls joyfully adorned and then you may see pictures.

 

Happy Creating!

 

One Comment on “Silhouette Creation”

  1. awww=) i love these=)


Leave a Reply

