Birthday Wishes & Stir Fry Heaven


Today is my stud of a husband’s birthday. He is old. 21. I know. Just barely out of the “constantly causing trouble” stage but still causing trouble every single day. I guess he will always have a little bit of little boy left in him. That is ok by me.

So hot. I know. This is my stud. Indulging in a cheesy hamburger, yet classy enough to hold up his pinky in the meantime.

And this is from our wedding day, just over a year ago. So handsome and playful all the time.

This post, however, is not about how studly or handsome or manly or charming or gentlemanly or awesome or hot my husband is. He is most definitely all of those and so much more- but this post is about the lovely stir fry my husband and I made last night.

It was sweet and sour and meaty and full of flavor.

The recipe came from a Food Network Cook Book I got about a month ago from my step mom. Its lovely. And large. And full of crazy things that will take awhile for us to be brave enough to attempt. In the meantime, I love stir fry. And this one was a cinch.

Here is the recipe:

Sweet & Sour Stir Fry
1/2 lb of choice of meat, chopped
1-2 cups choice of vegetables, chopped
1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
1/4 cup chopped peanuts
Sauce

3/4 cup chicken broth
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1/4 cup ketchup
2 teaspoons soy sauce
3 tablespoons rice vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sesame oil (I used olive oil)

-Mix all the sauce ingredients together and resevere
-Chop up your choice of meat & veggies. We used: broccoli, carrots, onion, garlic, and steak.
-Cook the meat in a skillet with some oil until almost done. Add veggies and cook until tender.
-Pour in sauce over all. Let sit on low for a few minutes.
-Serve on rice. Sprinkle with crushed peanuts.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

