My Love Affair with Basil

Do you remember when I told you I was growing 7 pots of basil? Do you remember that I never really told you what happened with my 7 lovely pots of basil? Do you remember that they died tragically one by one, by one, by one? Do you remember that our house became infested with fruit flies that lived in my precious basil? Do you remember that my husband threw out my baby basil plants to save us from the flies?

I have no basil. I have 7 empty pots.

My mom, however, has basil shooting up faster than she can use it. I came to her rescue. I know how to use massive amounts of basil so it doesn’t go to waste. I. Love. Basil.

First, pluck a few leaves and push them to your nose and breathe in really, really deep. Then sigh out of relief, because you are half way to heaven.

Second, rub those leaves all over your hands and arms so as you carry on the next few hours you can still faintly smell the basil.

Then, grab roughly two cups worth of basil to make pesto. Ohhh. Pesto. Lovely. Lovely. Pesto.


Alright. Here is the deal. Pesto is as easy as P-E-S-T-O. Ready?

P: Prepare.

2 cups basil
2 cloves garlic
3 tbsp pecans
3 tbsp parmesan-reggiano cheese
1 tsp salt
dash of pepper
1/4 cup olive oil

E: Engage 

plug in your food processor, throw everything in but the olive oil. mix. drizzle in oil while the food processor is going.

S: Stir  

open up the contraption. scrap the sides, make sure everyone is getting along.

T: Taste

I promise that is all this step entails. Taste it. Make sure it doesn’t need more basil, or cheese, or salt. I started with a cup of basil and added almost an entire second cup because when I got to taste it I found it was bitter. Hence, I strongly encourage tasting before serving.

O: Obsess

That is right. Obsess over that pesto. Love it to death, and back again. Try not to eat it all before you serve it.

I served my pesto as an appetizer at a mini grill out party at my mom’s last week. Slice a baguette, smear a dollop of pesto onto each slice, lay on a small slice of mozzarella cheese, and top with a cherry tomato sliced in half. Divine. I swear. So, so, so, incredible. It made up the most of my meal.

Curious to the rest of the menu for the grill out?

Grilled Steak, Grilled Pineapple, Italian Seasoned Potatoes. To drink: Ginger Ale + Pomegranate Cranberry Juice, adorned with a few strawberries.  For dessert: Fruit Pizza.

Pesto isn’t just for bread though. Throw a couple tablespoons onto your pasta instead of tomato sauce, smear a dollop on top of a chicken breast after cooking it. Eat it by the spoon-full in the middle of the night. Be creative. This was a fantastic way to wrap up summer. Now, go make some pesto.

One Comment on “My Love Affair with Basil”

  1. vickie renken says:

    You. Are. Crazy. For. Basil.
    I’m glad you got to enjoy my basil, and I’m even more glad I got to enjoy your PESTO!


Leave a Reply

