Broccoli Chicken & Rice Divan

One of my Bible study leaders started a blog with the new year. I thought one of her recipes looked particularly fun and tasty, so I gave it a shot.

Broccoli Chicken & Rice Divan. I don’t know what “divan” is, and I’m not entirely sure I care, because it was wonderful.

I divided the dish into four individual ramekins rather than one baking dish. It was so lovely to sit down to dinner with an individual little dish of loveliness just for me.

I divided the meal into four very full ramekins. This could have easily stretched to six I think.

Here is the recipe with my modifications.

Broccoli Chicken & Rice Divan
2 cups of cooked brown rice
2 chicken breasts, chopped
1 1/2 cups broccoli, chopped
1 (10.75 oz) can Cream of Broccoli Soup
1/3 cup milk
1/2 cup shredded cheddar
1 tbsp butter, melted
2 tbsp dried bread crumbs

– preheat oven to 450 degrees
– cook rice
– cook chicken
– cook broccoli, let boil for about 5 min. then drain
– spray ramekins with non-stick spray
– mix soup and milk
– mix chicken, broccoli, rice, sauce, and cheese
– pile into ramekins
– mix melted butter and bread crumbs
– sprinkle bread crumbs on top
– bake 15-20 minutes

** I know my pictures indicate that I did not follow my own directions. Its because I didn’t. After eating the dish I realized that some of the rice on the bottom did not get touched by the sauce, meaning I had several bites of plain rice. Rice is great and all… but I totally love a bit of cheesy goodness with every bite.

Leave a Reply

