Survival Guide

I’m a wimp. A real weany. I’m also a bit of a cry baby.

When hubby asks for a a night away with the guys I’m more likely to offer steak for dinner for a week than say yes. I don’t like to sleep without him. (interpret like as I will cry for hours and hours and not eat and live off lattes if I have to go a night without him.)

Well… Thursday I told him he could go have a little man’s retreat for a night this weekend. Tough choice. I’m working on the whole self-less thing. I decided it was time to grow up. Put my big girl panties on and let him go. He left this morning.

I knew in order to survive his night away I would need a plan. A really good plan. One that would keep my mind and body occupied for 36 hours.

The plan was to go to Target, Barnes & Noble, and JoAnn’s to shop and browse to my hearts content, all the while holding a steaming vanilla latte in my hand.

What actually happened? Well… I did a little homework. Then tried to put myself together to go to the store, tried to bribe my mom with Cheesecake Factory leftovers to come see me, text my man, try to drown myself in Pinterest. All around fail.

Plan two. I think this one will do the trick.

Survival Guide Staples:

Thin Mints. The little Girl Scout dropped them off earlier today. They may or may not make it through the weekend.

Leftovers from the Cheesecake Factory. Cheesecake, pasta, and fried mac & cheese balls. All are necessary.

Starbucks. Lots and lots of Starbucks. The festive cup helps too.

Magazines. Helpful for aiding your mind in wandering away from the lack of husband at home. I just pretend I can decorate my home how ever I want and lose myself in that.

Favorite chick-flicks. Highly necessary. Even if they only serve as background noise to some crying.

The last staple- my mom. I guess my bribing worked. My wonderful mommy is coming to stay with me for the night because a night alone just sounds unbearable. Mom’s know how to fix things. I think she also gets out of working too… that may or may not have been part of her plan.

With my staples in hand, I think I can make it through the night. Wish me luck.

2 Comments on “Survival Guide”

  1. Jesharelah says:

    Have a fun weekend with you mom! Oh, and enjoy the thin mints. :)

  2. vickie renken says:

    I’m still a softy for a sad little girl. I had fun and hopefully it made some of your 36 hours go by faster!


Leave a Reply

